My Great Experiment

“I learned this, at least, by my experiment: that if one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams, and endeavors to live the life which he has imagined, he will meet with a success unexpected in common hours.”  Henry David Thoreau

“Don’t be too timid and squeamish about your actions. All life is an experiment.”  – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Escape a false sense of community. Reconnect with my inner instincts and aspirations. Use my gifts. Stop wasting time. Make more time for face-to-face relationships and “old-fashioned” correspondence (think e-mail). These are some of the reasons which prompted me to give up Facebook for an indefinite amount of time (a year?).  Commence eye-rolling if you must. I know it might seem selfish. It might be an inconvenience for some. It might not make sense.

I don’t know if my experiment will bring me the things I seek, but so far I have maintained my reading goals (see my new “Reading Log” page for what I’m currently reading), face-timed for two hours with a friend I hadn’t talked to in nearly 20 years, and written in my journal almost every day.  I have had lunch dates with friends and family members and appreciated the interaction in ways I had come to take for granted.

When I recently messaged another dear friend  and mentioned that I had spent my morning reading, writing and thinking about future blog topics, she celebrated the “fog clearing” for me. She has agonized with me through this past year’s turbulence.  She has shared my sorrow and bewilderment over how I lost any desire to read or write – two of the treasured mainstays of most of my life.  And with her perceptive observation of the “fog clearing” she has assured me that there is hope that my experiment might truly turn out to be great.

10 thoughts on “My Great Experiment

  1. Bri, you have great insight in the simple things in life. I often think of taking a “sabbatical” from FB, too. I don’t spend exceptional amount of time there, nor do I have a smart phone that keeps me apprised of updates all day long. However, when I do go on, it seems to consume at least an hour that could be spent more fully doing more important things. You have a great amount of courage and self-discipline in stepping out into 2015 with this determination! I just may join you there… Blessings and peace to you, sister!

    1. Great to hear from you, Pam. If you do “join me” on this journey, please let me know how it goes with you. It seems kind of crazy that giving up a social media source should be such a big decision, and yet this is the world in which we live. It does require effort and determination – at least for me it has. : )

  2. First of all, I hope you remember discussing this quote in Eng. 11! I think anyone who loves reading and writing will eventually return to it because the pull is so strong. I am glad you are returning! Klk

    1. Well…I do remember the book. You might have to refresh my memory on the discussion. In fact, I should probably re-read the book. I also need to caught up on reading YOUR books. Are they all available on Amazon?

  3. I am right there with you in wanting to resurrect the desire (compulsion?) to read and write, which I have missed so much, and yet felt utterly unable to do (well, writing anyway). I am so very glad you have returned to the blogging world, as I have missed you here! Carry on, my friend…I love to read your thoughts and ideas. They are inspiring little sparks in me, and hopefully one will ignite and clear out the fog. 🙂

  4. When I went through menopause, I really felt that I lost much creativity.  It is a sense of resurrection when it resurfaces again.  I think that is God’s specialty…making dead alive. Love and prayer,Sharon

Leave a Reply

