Friendship (without the bread) is…festive!

Am I the only female who fears fouling a friendship by foregoing Friendship Bread?  (By the way, welcome to “F Day” of the Blogging from A to Z Challenge.)

Am I the only one who gets palpably flustered when I see a friend approaching with  a Ziploc bag of yeasty goo?  I’m not faulting the friend; it’s me.  I’m terrible at saying, “No.”  When I see that fragrant bag of starter, I see Failure with a capital F.  I know I will fail the friend and the floppy bag of bread waiting to be born.

My friend, Ruth, never approached me with a Ziploc bag, but she did graciously give me a recipe or two.  Conveniently, one of them starts with an F – Festive Tossed Salad.  Actually, she emailed it to me on December 9, 2004.  I’ve since re-typed it to share with other friends, but I’ve kept the original one I printed off.  Ruth and I now live 1,000 miles apart, but every time I pull that faded, stained, messy old thing from my recipe box, I have a chance to think of the lovely friend and talented cook that gave it to me.  I think I’d even let her approach me with a Ziploc bag.

Festive Tossed Salad

Dressing:

1/2 cup canola oil

1/4 cup sugar

1/3 cup red wine vinegar

1/4 tbsp finely chopped red onion

1 tbsp lemon juice

2-3 tsp poppy seeds

1 tsp prepared mustard

1/2 tsp salt

Combine all ingredients in a blender, food processor or salad dressing shaker and blend thoroughly.  Refrigerate until needed.

Salad:

6 cups torn Romaine or red leaf lettuce

4 cups spinach

1 cup crumbled Feta cheese

1 cup shredded Swiss cheese

1 medium pear or apple, cored and cubed

1 cup dried cranberries

1 cup chopped cashews

2 bacon strips, cooked and crumbled

In a salad bowl, combine the lettuce and other salad ingredients.  Drizzle with desired amount of dressing.  Serves 8-10.

2 thoughts on “Friendship (without the bread) is…festive!

  1. I was given the dreaded bag and had the misfortune of being asked to make the bread for our coffee shop. Were talking 16 loaves every few weeks. My starter died and I haven’t made a loaf since…..I do not miss it!

Leave a Reply

