Day 4: Giving the “deviled” its due

So far my recipes for the A to Z blog challenge have included the oft-villainized cream cheese, breading, and bourbon.  If we’re going to continue down this highway to diet hell, why not throw in a good dose of deviling?

My Secrets from the Southern Living Test Kitchens book defines deviled this way: “A term that refers to highly seasoned food such as deviled eggs or deviled crab.  (Can I just insert my own salivating ‘Yum!’ here?)  The hot, spicy flavor might come from red pepper, mustard, hot sauce, chili powder, black pepper, or horseradish.”

The book goes on to provide a recipe which includes Dijon mustard and instant potato flakes.  It says the flakes make for a “full-bodied filling.”  Feel free to turn your eggs into voluptuous temptations, but for now I think I’ll stick to the boring basic-bodied variety.

In my opinion, one of the secrets to a heavenly deviled egg is starting off by mashing the yolks with a fork to a fine, crumbly consistency.  Lumpy deviled eggs are just dastardly.  Then I add a little salt, a little sweet pickle juice, Miracle Whip (NOT mayo) and plenty of mustard.  I cream this mixture with a hand mixer and then pipe it into the egg whites.  I prefer paprika for a garnish, but if you want to go Southern Living style, use fresh dill springs instead.

Isn’t deviling divine?

13 thoughts on “Day 4: Giving the “deviled” its due

    1. Years ago I had a recipe for them that called for deviled ham (you know, the canned Underwood brand) and pickle relish. A girl in one of my college classes made them for her “demonstration” speech, and I loved them, but my hubby is too much of a deviled egg purist and I didn’t want to have to eat them all! I might get by with bacon, though!

  1. I found you through your comment on Overcoming Loneliness (I’ll have to give a better look at the AtoZ Challenge list of close to 2000 blogs to find you there, I guess!)

    This is a lovely post about deviling! And I love your writing! I’m with you, I prefer paprika on my deviled eggs! Thanks for sharing. I look forward to reading more!

  2. Yum! You should bring these the next time we have dinner together. I haven’t met a deviled egg I didn’t like! ‘Twould be dastardly if I did! 😀

Leave a Reply

