Day 3: CHOCOLATE…or carrots?

“BIG C

little c

What begins with C?”

– Dr. Seuss’s ABC

In this case, Dr. Seuss and I don’t come to the same conclusion.  He was perhaps a little more creative with his camel on the ceiling, but my first thought was CHOCOLATE.  I have, however, already had my climactic moment with chocolate this week thanks to an NPR article.   It seems almost cavalier to encroach again upon its crave-worthy blessedness.   Instead I will bloviate on carrots.

Two things:  first, that well-intentioned maxim our mothers taught us about eating carrots to improve our vision has been proven false.  One has only to check out my thick glasses to confirm this fact. (I ate my carrots!  Honest!)  Secondly, if my husband and I are any example, the way you approach carrots says a lot about your relationship.  In our case, opposites most certainly attract.

In my appetizer-less, meat and potato family, savory ruled supreme.  Take for example the often mistaken-for-a-vegetable grain (and fellow C-word), corn.  Rather than canning the corn we grew, my mother cut it from the cob, stirred in half and half and butter and baked it before freezing it.  I still remember the summer she got the recipe from a fellow ranch wife.  Copacetic!

In my husband’s family, all vegetables received a healthy baptism by sugar.  We have had to compromise, which to be honest, usually means that my husband has to doctor up his own veggies.  With one recipe; however, I have succumbed.  That it includes bourbon may help its case. I think I’ll make these for Easter to go along with the chocolate bunnies.   That ought to ensure a good sugar coma.

Bourbon Carrots

3 cups water

1/2 tsp salt

2 Tbsp bourbon

1 1/2 lbs baby carrots

2 Tbsp butter

1 Tbsp granulated sugar

3 Tbsp brown sugar

Chopped parsley for garnish

Bring water to boil in a 3 quart pan.  Add carrots, granulated sugar and salt.  Return to a boil and cook 5 minutes or until carrots are tender.   In a large skillet, melt butter and brown sugar over medium-high heat.  Stir in drained carrots and cook, stirring occasionally, 2-3 minutes or until well-coated.  Add bourbon.  Cook and stir 3 more minutes.  Remove from heat and transfer to serving dish.  Garnish with parsley.

13 thoughts on “Day 3: CHOCOLATE…or carrots?

  1. They sound divine. And I have to say that I burst out laughing at your use of “bloviate.” That is such a highly underused & underrated word, and it’s just perfect in every way! ❤

      1. Oh, there are. It’s the word that gets forgotten. That is, until Bill O’Reilly started using it to describe himself. I will proudly bloviate for the rest of my days…in writing of course (as I’m not a “chatty cathy”). 😀

  2. I love the blog. I love carrots, raw ones with hummus!!! I have to confess I had to look up “Bloviate”. Thank you for a quick grammar lesson and thank you especially for the recipe!

    I shall come back daily to see if you have posted any succulent recipes or words I never knew existed. : )

  3. Thanks, “Water.” You’ll probably find that most of my blogging is bloviating! 😉 I’ll try not to disappoint. BTW – hummus, YES! May have to use that on H Day! Thanks for the idea.

  4. I understand sugar on carrots but other vegetables taste strange to me if they are sweet. I like the recipe Bri. I think I will make these easter as well! You were brave to pick carrots over chocolate!
    Gail

  5. I’ve actually never had bourbon. I’m a wine fancier, but if I’m going to partake of another alcohol, rum would have to be it. In particular – Rum and Rootbeer – can’t be beat.

    Carrot recipe does sound good though.

    1. My husband is actually the bourbon drinker here, and we both like rum and Coke. Never tried it in root beer but will definitely do that. I also have a rum cake recipe that we love. Thanks for reading, Wendy.

Leave a Reply

