Blogging from A to Z Challenge April 2012

Abyss.  Arizona.  Atheist.  Ambien.  (I could use some.)  Thanks to my friend, Laura, at Spotts in the Valley of the Sun, A-words are firing around in my head like comets.  She tipped me off about this blog challenge – perhaps just what I needed to re-activate my enthusiasm for blogging.

As the mother of an Annie who is in culinary school, I’ve settled upon the word appetizer, because regardless of what happens to be firing around upstairs, the ardors of my stomach usually win out.

Before I was married (nearly 27 years ago) I had hardly ever eaten appetizers.  Growing up as a ranch kid I was trained early to go straight for the potatoes and meat – corn-fed and fattened yards from my bedroom window.  But marrying the man who is still my husband and the gourmet of the family (at least until Annie graduates) introduced me to the art of appetizers and the friends who rocked them.  Like Susan Eden.  Here’s a recipe we begged her for after devouring them at a football bash.

Stuffed Mushrooms

12-14 large mushrooms

1 8 oz. pkg cream cheese, softened

2 Tbsp sour cream

1 Tbsp finely minced onion

4 pieces crisp-cooked bacon, crumbled

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp dill weed

grated cheddar cheese

Clean mushrooms, remove stems and hollow out cavities.  Cream together cream cheese and all remaining ingredients EXCEPT cheddar cheese.  Spoon into mushroom caps and place on a greased baking sheet.   Top with grated cheese.  Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes, until cheese is lightly browned.

Bon appetit!

10 thoughts on “Blogging from A to Z Challenge April 2012

    1. And then there’s the famous pu-pu platters and canapes. How did we ever survive without them? 😉 And yes, I’m a big fan of prawn or shrimp cocktail…hmmm…wonder if anyone serves them for breakfast….Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

