Apologies to Sara Bareilles

If you watch the video below and substitute the words “blog post” for “love song,” you might get a feel for my quandary.   I’m a little mixed on the whole “If you want me to read your blog, you have to post on a predictable schedule” rule.  On one hand, I totally get it.  It’s disappointing – even frustrating – to visit a blog from which you once read a really great post (and I’m not implying you found one here, although I hope so), only to find nothing new has been posted in weeks or months.  BUT sometimes (like today) I know I’m just posting for the sake of posting, and while I know that if I was a “really good blogger,” I could come up with something better, sometimes I just don’t feel like it or I have more important things to do.  Gasp!  More important than blogging?  Yes.  I wish that included writing songs like Sara Bareilles, but it usually consists of a lot of little quotidian things.  I was going to give you a few examples, but for some reason, “hanging out with the kids” doesn’t sound so quotidian.  It sounds down right spectacular and miraculous, which renders my lack of blogging inspiration completely inexplicable.  The new year has just begun.  Hope is irresistible.   In the meantime, enjoy the song…

 

15 thoughts on “Apologies to Sara Bareilles

  1. I feel like this all the time, and (as usual) you have said it beautifully. Keep writing, even if it is just posting for the sake of posting. You always have something to say, even if you don’t think so, and crazy as it is (as I’m sure you know), the more you write, the easier it gets, the better it gets, and the more you become inspired to write.

    1. Her var det mye flott.Og skal si du kan pleenlgga. Jeg en sånn som tenker masse på hvordan det skal bli, men løper likevel rundt som en skadeskutt måke for å finne saker og ting sånn i siste liten.

  2. Ha! Love it! I get the connection between the song and what you wrote. Hey that’s pretty good for me. 🙂 I think everyone approaches their own blog a little differently, and that’s okay.

    1. Yes, I agree about everybody approaching their blogs differently. I do find myself caught between “doing my own thing” and trying to follow some of the “rules” out there. Mine is, afterall, a blog accessible to anyone. One blogger/commentator said, if you’re just doing it “as a journal” or “for yourself,” why not just write it in Word and email it to people who are interested? A good question, perhaps. I can always use more discipline.

  3. LOL! I feel you. I especially felt pressure to post when I was trying to “capitalize” on the extra traffic from some features and that contest placement. I kept thinking that I’d never have the chance to have readers join my blog. But it’s just silly to think that blogging is as important as other things…like hanging with kids. You enjoy it! We all have to find our balance. And sometimes rules are meant to be broken, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

