The Birthday Game

For a time, a friend of mine was doing a “birthday game” on Facebook, where he used a famous person’s photo as his profile picture.  It was fun trying to guess the identity of the personality who was celebrating a birthday on the given day.  My friend ended the game on his own birthday.  I didn’t think much more about it until yesterday when Rolling Stone noted that it was Paul Simon’s birthday.  I was inspired to reinstate the birthday game, though I don’t know how long I’ll last.  I’m already struggling with the discipline of researching the birthdays.  I did look up the birthdays for this week, and found a few that struck a chord with me:

October 9 – Jackson Browne – Singer/Songwriter/Activist.   Infamous for alleged drama with Darryl Hannah.  I like him best for the songs he’s written for himself and others like the Eagles and Linda Ronstadt.  He penned one of my favorite lyrics in his song Doctor My Eyes: “Is this the prize for having learned how not to cry?”

October 10 – Tanya Tucker – Country Music Artist.  She had her first hit at age 13.  I sang that hit, Delta Dawn, as a junior in my high school’s Grand Ole Opry Revue.  I wore some tight western style polyester slacks, a fringed shirt and cowboy boots.  As horrid as it sounds, let’s just say I probably did better channeling her appearance than her voice.

October 11 – Joan Cusack – Actress. I’m no movie buff.  My sentimental connections to movies usually occur through experiences with my kids, and this is no exception.  My kids and I love Joan in School of Rock, especially the scene where she lip syncs/sings Stevie Nicks’ Edge of Seventeen.

October 12 – Edward VI – King of England and Ireland (1547-1553).  I love history and biographies.  One of my favorite books is The Wives of Henry VIII by Antonia Fraser.  It, of course, gives the low-down on Edward’s daddy.  The book is over 450 pages and I read it twice.  Does that make me some kind of nerd?

October 13 – Paul Simon – Singer/Songwriter. I must have been in the 8th grade when I got his Greatest Hits on 8-track.  My favorites: Slip Slidin’ Away, Still Crazy After All These Years, Me and Julio Down by the Schoolyard, 50 Ways to Leave Your Lover, Mother and Child Reunion, Loves Me Like a Rock, and the song that taught me about photography…Kodachrome.

October 14 – Roger Moore – Actor.  My favorite James Bond.  That blind date I blogged about last week took me to see Octopussy, which featured Moore.   I was more impressed with Rita Coolidge singing All Time High.  It would take the true love of my life, my husband, to help me appreciate Roger Moore and James Bond.

October 15 – Mother-In-Law – She turns 80 tomorrow, and after retiring more times than can I  count, recently accepted another position teaching college nursing courses.  She has endured much in her life, including the suicide of her first husband, my husband’s father.  I have learned many things from this amazing woman, but perhaps one of the most valuable is the Bible verse she used to have tacked to her bedroom wall: “I will restore  the years that the locust hath eaten.” (Joel 2:25)

2 thoughts on “The Birthday Game

  1. You know I love this. I actually heard “Doctor My Eyes” AND “Me and Julio Down by the Schoolyard” on the radio yesterday! Happy 80th birthday to the wise mother of your wonderful husband.

Leave a Reply

