Ramen Snob Via Vivaldi and Bob Dylan

NOTE: Lest one think I put my Thanksgiving decorations up AFTER Thanksgiving, the reader should know that I actually wrote this a few days ago, but am just now getting it posted. Such is my life.

I spent the morning putting up Thanksgiving decorations then getting my ironing done while my daughter danced to Vivaldi’s Four Seasons. Yes, I STILL iron, and if you are someone who takes pride in expertly finding ways to get out of ironing, “Great for you!” but I happen to like the smell of hot cotton.

It was a pretty ambitious morning for me, but now I’m sitting here eating Ramen noodle soup and feeling like the most boring person in the world. I’m thinking about giving the blog the boot because surely no one wants to read about my life with Ramen noodles even if it is spiced up with Vivaldi. That just makes me sound like a Ramen snob. “Well, I prefer my noodles with the Adagio Molto movement from The Autumn concerto.” Sniff. Sniff.

Perhaps worse than succumbing to being a Ramen snob, is that I’ve also been devising desperate last ditch schemes to increase readership, and since my blog about the Bob Dylan concert a while back was my most commented upon ever, I’ve considered just typing “Bob Dylan” about a thousand times to see how many hits I get. However, believe it or not, I have too much respect for Dylan fans to do that. Instead, I’m just going to direct you to a book review I wrote on a book about Mr. Dylan. If you happen to be a Dylan fan, who is reading this because I’ve now used Dylan’s name five times and cyberspace directed you here, great. However, I’ll understand if you prefer your Dylan served up a by a non-Ramen snob. (Click here to read the review.)

This review is on my church’s website. We’re Presbyterians and it’s been hinted that that makes us “bookish.” Some might even call us book snobs. So, am I Presbyterian because I love books, or do I love books because I am Presbyterian? Neither. My love for anything worthy of being loved is due to my love for Jesus who has given me eyes to see and ears to hear and tongue to taste and experience all that is good. I think Bob Dylan probably loves Jesus, too. It was not the book that convinced me of this, though; it was his own words, the lyrics to some of his songs.
Whether one speaks of Vivaldi or Dylan, I’ve found it’s usually the artist’s work itself that says the most. I hope that doesn’t sound too much like a snob – of any kind.

6 thoughts on “Ramen Snob Via Vivaldi and Bob Dylan

  1. Please don't give your blog the boot. I love reading your posts! And I agree about Bob Dylan…BTW, if you cross post to FB, Twitter, or whatever networking you're on, your readership will expand. šŸ™‚

  2. I read your blog Bri! šŸ™‚ Don't quit writing please! Even if I don't comment, I still think your blog posts are very insightful and creative, and I love the way you write. šŸ™‚ Besides, Jeff and I don't have very many friends whose mothers like to be goofy (not that you're total goofiness, I know you can be serious too), listen to great music (Bob Dylan etc.), and are willing to get to know their son's friend's wives via the internet. šŸ˜‰ It is a great comfort to me to see another "everyday" woman who writes posts about something other than raising children and cooking food, even though those things are wonderful too. Please don't stop writing, and I will try to comment more, I promise. :)~Christina

  3. Oh, Laura! Twitter? Why does that make me twitch? But I know you're right, so maybe…Thanks for your encouragement.And Christina, as always, I'm encouraged by you and once again, thankful for this amazing cyber friendship we have. Hugs!

  4. I'm a faithful reader too….It would be sad if you quit, I propose you research the best ways to gain BLOG readers, or BRIBE me into doing the research for you : – ) Whatever you do please don't trash the blog!Love. . .

  5. Yeah, Bri, I second, third and fourth what everyone else has said previously about ditching the blog. I know it's hard to find time to dither and blather about noodles and such, but I would much, much rather read your words while listening to Dylan than Dylan sans your take on life. It brings joy to my heart and a smile to my face.peace and grace from him alone,Rick

Leave a Reply

