A Girl’s Gotta Do What a Girl’s Gotta Do

I’m not too proud to admit that I accept hand-me-downs (what my mom tells me I called “me-toos” as a three-year-old). Actually, I was too proud to make that admission, but that was before I needed something to write about. It was also before September 27, the day I walked into my closet and learned I was afflicted with that age-old women’s ailment: Nothing To Wear. Except that I did have one thing to wear. That great pair of barely worn jeans a friend had passed on to me. These jeans fit perfectly – or at least as perfectly as anything has fit since January 6, 2006. That was the day my body decided I could no longer out-eat every man at the table and not suffer the consequences. There was also the little detail that my friend is three inches taller than me. But hey, a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do, and I can sew.

At least I could sew. I sewed in my freshman Home Economics class. I sewed a white terry cloth jogging suit with elastic at the waistband (of both the top and pants) and elastic at the ankles. OK. It was hideous, but my family has a long history of seamstresses. Somewhere in my nephews’ closet hangs a little wool navy pea coat that my mother, a self-professed country girl tomboy, sewed for my brother. It’s fully lined and everything. It would be at home on a rack in the Boys Department of Nordstroms. And don’t get me started on my grandmother, proprietor of the TLC Doll Hospital. That woman could hand-stitch tiny doll clothes that looked better than anything sewn with a machine.

Sewing is in my genes, so I could surely handle hemming a pair of jeans. With visions of my mother and grandmother in my mind, I made my way to the garage. What I needed was…there it was! Duct tape! A girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do.

4 thoughts on “A Girl’s Gotta Do What a Girl’s Gotta Do

  1. Hey people this is true, my wife actually duct-taped the hem of these JEANS…..And let me tell you she was one HOT MAMMA in them! Maybe she should have taped the hem on the outside of the jeans to start a new fashion trend!

  2. Thanks for the laugh! I've used masking tape for that purpose myself. Just one more use for duct tape!! That stuff is great! A guy used it to cover his blisters in a book I'm reading … :-)! Oh, and you could totally pull it off to start a new fashion trend!

  3. You know–I would almost bet money that the little jacket you described was made (not so sure about your mother sewing it, dear) from your FATHER's Navy pea jacket for your Uncle Vance. There are pictures somewhere in the archives of Vance in a little, blue pea jacket & a beret-like hat. And you do know, don't you, that your Great-Grandma Maude Woods made your Mom's wedding dress from a parachute your Dad ended up with from his time in service?

Leave a Reply

