The Language of Mmmm

I was in true Woman Never Sleeps mode this morning, waking up around 3:30 a.m. It wasn’t anxiety or angst that was scaring off the sandman; it was my back-to-school joie de vivre. I was hankering to get to that Spanish curriculum that I’ve been working on for the co-op students. There’s something stimulating about learning alongside kids who are about a third of your age. I went downstairs to make a cup of coffee and check out the sink (dishes are always sprouting up over night there.)

Not surprisingly, the sink held someone’s ice cream bowl and a few other odds and ends. I started unloading and reloading the dishwasher while I waited on the coffee to finish brewing. Being in the kitchen, my thoughts naturally turned to food. Tomorrow is Grocery Shopping Day which means that my kids have been having to scavenge through the depleted pantry for breakfast fare. Maybe I should be a “good mom” and actually make them something. I did remember to buy muffin papers at the store last time – I could make muffins! I grabbed the new Better Homes and Garden New Cookbook that my kids gave me for Christmas a few years ago, and complain that I never use. (I can’t help it that I’m more familiar with my old one…at least I used it!) Before long I was mixing up the Basic Muffin recipe and, el espanol was melting from my mind like fried ice cream on a Phoenix patio.

The muffins baked, their cinnamony aroma only slightly marred by the spot of smoldering pork tenderloin juice I spilled in the bottom of the oven last night. I put the muffin ingredients up and noticed in the refrigerator the cantaloupe my husband bought several days ago. It might be a good idea to cut it up so someone would eat it! Does anyone else find it relaxing to spoon and clean out the fibrous-seedy inside of a melon? And what was it that I had been in such a hurry to work on this morning? Oh, si! Well, my morning mania to be productive with a foreign language was ambushed by a kitchen speaking a totally different one. Mmmm.

3 thoughts on “The Language of Mmmm

  1. ok, so loey can't really be old enough to get on the computer and post a comment on your blog…..I love your writings. they inspire me. i think I can even smell the muffins & the cantelope……adios…

Leave a Reply

