Classics from a Kid

I’m not known for my inspirational breakfasts. Most weekdays we have cold cereal or Pop Tarts. (Please no scathing comments – I’m well aware of the consequences of eating such fare. I once inhaled a Brown Sugar Frosted on my way to see my OB/GYN when I was eight months pregnant. I know about elevated glucose.) But today I did serve eggs and toast, and my seven year old came to the table singing, “Don’t stop thinking about tomorrow…” When she continued after we sat down, her brother expressed some annoyance. To that she sang back to him, “You can’t always get what you want!” After a momentary pause she started up again, “You’re a real tough cookie with a long history…” When I pointed out that she’d covered Fleetwood Mac, The Rolling Stones, and Pat Benatar in a matter of minutes, she responded, “Oh, and I just thought of another one…” She began to sing, “Another one bites the dust…” I was beginning to be impressed by her repertoire of classic rock. Still, I had to ask, “What made you think of that one (Another One Bites the Dust)?” I may have contributed to her music-loving tendencies, but her answer immediately humbled me. “That pile of dust by the chair over there.”

4 thoughts on “Classics from a Kid

Leave a Reply

