Bolstered by Book Bonds

My world seems so chaotic sometimes that I tend to treasure the smallest threads of connectivity. I just finished reading Timothy Keller’s The Reason for God: Belief in an Age of Skepticism. In it, Keller quotes Ann Rice, author of Interview With the Vampire. Interview was the last book I read before The Reason for God. He also quotes Flannery O’Conner. Again, I started my summer by reading O’Conner’s The Violent Bear It Away. He also quotes from another one of my favorite books, Bono in Conversation With Michka Assayas. I’ve been telling people about this book for the last five years and getting raised eyebrows in return. Finally! Someone (besides you, Doug H.) who “gets it!” And he quotes C.S. Lewis extensively and acknowledges being inspired by Jonathan Edwards. Yes, two more of my favorite author/thinkers.

Obviously, Mr. Keller and I are on the same page (pardon the pun) when it comes to literature. But I would be doing him and his excellent book a great disservice if I only remarked on our common tastes in books. These are only nice coincidences that I happen to find cheering at the moment. The Reason for God opened my eyes to many things. The section on forgiveness is alone enough reason to buy the book.

Leave a Reply

