Words and Pictures (Everywhere and Eternal)

Just a few thoughts before I start preparing for the Red River Rivalry breakfast bash we’re hosting later this morning…
The past couple of weeks I’ve been doing something in my spare time that I don’t always do; I’ve actually been reading one of the old books I bought over the summer. Specifically, I’ve been reading the one I picked up at Powell’s on the German artist Albrecht Durer (1471-1528). He’s become one of my favorites, not only because of his art, but because his brief life was extremely productive and fascinating. However, the quote that captured my attention extends far beyond Durer or any artist. Writing about the technological innovations of the 15th century, the authors said this: “The rapid and economical multiplication of printed, woodcut-illustrated pages – sold singly or bound into books – stimulated an appetite for words and pictures that has never been satisfied.” (emphasis mine)
I would agree that our appetites for words and pictures have never been satisfied, but I think that appetite existed long before woodcuts and the printing press. Some scriptures come to mind here. First is John 1:1, “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.”
Secondly, is Colossians 1:15, “And He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of all creation.”
These scriptures are both speaking of the second Person of the Trinity, Christ. He is both “Word” and “Image.”
For someone like me, who loves Christ, these are profound thoughts. I think I have been created for the express purpose of loving words and pictures, but especially for loving the Word and Image who gave them as gifts to those created in His image.

Leave a Reply

